Telephone: 01475 720223

St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church
Greenock, Scotland

Parish Clergy
Mgr. Gerry Gallagher
Fr. Thomas Erambil

Welcome to St. Patrick's Website

Times of Parish Liturgy

Sunday Masses

Vigil 7pm, 9am, 11am and 7pm

Weekday Masses

Monday - Saturday Mass 10am

Eucharistic Adoration

Monday - Saturday 9am–9:30am

Sacrament of Reconciliation

Saturday 9.30-9.50am and after

10am Mass.

Saturday evening 6:15-6:45

and after the Vigil Mass

Liturgical Calendar

Ordinary Time

The Ordinary Time of the Church’s Year is devoted to the unfolding of the Mystery of Christ in all its aspects.

Green is the colour of the season. Our Sunday readings are from Year B, the year of Mark, and our weekday readings from Year 2.

Wednesday: St. Anthony, Abbot,

(Anthony of the Desert), +356.

Thursday: Beginning of the OCTAVE OF PRAYER FOR CHRISTIAN UNITY (until 25th January).

Sunday 28th January: Beginning of CATHOLIC EDUCATION WEEK. This year is a special year for our catholic schools as we are celebrating 100 since the Education (Scotland) Act which brought our catholic schools into the public system.

Some Background Information

The present church building, designed Antonio Coia, was dedicated on Sunday 8th December 1935 by Bishop Henry Grey Graham (Titular Bishop and Auxiliary of St. Andrews and Edinburgh) and replaced an earlier one opened in 1924 when the parish was founded.

On the 8th December 1995 St Patrick’s marked its diamond jubilee.  Bishop Jone Mone was principal celebrant of the Mass of thanksgiving with Bishop Stephen McGill and many priests.  Until 1925 Greenock with a population of over 80,000 people had only two churches, St Mary’s (1861) and St. Laurence’s (1855).  Since 1924 the parish has had twelve parish priests and many assistants.

Parish Priests

James P Kelly 1924-1931(Founder and builder of the first St. Patrick’s)

Joseph Courtney 1931-1949 (Built second St. Patrick’s church)

John Scanlon 1949-1957

Joseph Costeur 1957-1966

Vincent Grace 1966-1968

Donald Bonnar 1968-1972

John Harran 1972-1975

Neil McGrory 1975-1980

James Sheenan 1980-1992

John Cunningham 1992-2004 (Appointed Bishop of the Diocese of Galloway)

Desmond Berry 2004-2010 (Appointed PP St. Joseph's & St. Patrick's, Wemyss Bay)

John Morrison 2010-2017

Gerry Gallagher 2017